TOKYO HANAMI LIVE April 1, 2018


For this year’s cherry blossom season, VISIT MINATO CITY is organizing a special TOKYO HANAMI LIVE to be broadcast on 1st April 2018 through our YouTube channel.

Also known as hanami, the annual cherry blossom festival in Japan brings friends, families and coworkers around the country together to go for a stroll around one of the many local parks and have a picnic there surrounded by the beautifully pink and white colors of the cherry blossom.

In the past two years, we have shown you where to go for hanami and how to enjoy the beauty of Japan’s national trees. This year, we want to go one step further and take you with us on our way through the crowds around Shiba Park.

To make this even more interesting, we thought we would like to ask you to send us questions about hanami through Facebook and YouTube. We will try to answer as many of your questions as possible.

Sakura

We will be broadcasting LIVE from Tokyo on April 1, 2018 at the following times. Make sure to write it down in your calendar!

  • Tokyo: 15:00
  • Seoul: 15:00
  • Sydney: 16:00
  • London: 7:00
  • New York: 2:00
  • Los Angeles: 23:00 (March 31, 2018)

In preparation for that, also make sure to take a look at our past articles and videos about hanami season in Japan below.

SAKURA – MORE THAN JUST CHERRY BLOSSOMS

When planning your trip to Japan, you will find that every single guidebook you open – sometimes you don’t even have to open it – features pictures of cherry blossoms. Also, every seasoned Japan traveller will insist that you should come to Japan in spring –well, and if spring is not possible that you should at least come in fall. Why is that?
[Read more here…]

BEST “HANAMI” SPOTS IN TOKYO! (2017)


Spring has come! Every Japanese, no, everyone who lives in Japan is waiting every year for the moment when the cherry blossoms (“sakura”) begin to open and start to bloom. Going to parks and gardens to look at the cherry blossoms is called “hanami”. There are many ways to do a “hanami”. In this article, I would like to introduce various types of “hanami” and the spots I would recommend for doing so.
[Read more here…]

HOW TO HANAMI – JAPANESE CHERRY BLOSSOM VIEWING


Japanese cherry blossoms are famous all over the world. In Tokyo, cherry trees (“sakura“) start blooming at the end of March until the middle of April. Also, it’s the best travel season. One way to enjoy Japanese cherry blossoms is “hanami” (= cherry blossom viewing). Friends, couples and co-workers come together in parks throughout the city and make a picnic under the cherry trees.
[Read more here…]